more from
Organ Grinder Records

A long fall & no​-​one to catch you

from by The Monroe Transfer

  • Digital Track
    Streaming + Download

    A track from our first album as a group, 'Electric Old Wire Noise'. The album was comprises new recordings of music from 67 moons and wedontknowhowyoufindtimeforallofuslordbutweregratefulthatyoudo, based on re-arrangements of the music for the new group.
    Purchasable with gift card


    You own this

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    The CD is housed in a green foil-stamped card box, with a 12″ square fold-out inlay, with artwork by Consumer Revolt.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Electric Old Wire Noise via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      £10 GBP

    You own this  



* * * *[Decoy Music]

“The Monroe Transfer’s music is big and bold, confident and complex; it relies little on repetition and quiet-loud-quiet dynamics, and is all the more stirring for its reluctance to adhere to tried-and-tested formulas” [Drowned in Sound]

“ALBUM OF THE WEEK. The Monroe Transfer may have seemingly come out of nowhere, but with their debut release have crafted a post-rock classic that sets them among the ranks of the best in the genre. There’s an epic quality here which utilises a delicate Orchestral aesthetic – imagine if Max Richter was to collaborate with Mogwai – a handpicked mixture of mindblowing string compositions coupled with experimental guitar and percussion so precise it may as well be compared to the Battles – yes it’s that good. A Huge recommendation.” [Boomkat Online]

“their music is intense, slow-building, hypnotic, even mesmerising in its effect, its relative simplicity a vital part of its appeal: there are no showy solos, no instrumental pyrotechnics of any sort; every contribution is at the service of the overall group sound, which is an utterly beguiling mix of plangent strings, flickering guitars, electronic noise and forcefully tasteful drums building to uplifting climaxes” [Vortex album reviews]


from Electric Old Wire Noise, released January 1, 2005
Kat Hudson – viola
Seiriol Davies – ‘cello
Pete Withey – electric guitar
Nick Gill – electric guitar, ukulele, glockenspiel, samples
Dave O’Brien – double bass
Ed Howard – drums

Recorded by Ed at ADP Studios, East Sussex; produced & mixed by Ed, with some help from Nick.